14 Republicans Switch Votes In Favor of Rep. Kevin McCarthy

  • Post category:News / US News

Get Your Patriot911 Newsletter In Your Email Inbox

Republican leader Kevin McCarthy is inching closer to the speaker of the House position after 14 Republicans changed their votes in his favor on Friday.

They include:

  1. Scott Perry of Pennsylvania
  2. Ralph Norman of South Carolina
  3. Andrew Clyde of Georgia
  4. Dan Bishop of North Carolina
  5. Anna Paulina Luna of Florida
  6. Chip Roy of Texas
  7. Victoria Spartz of Indiana
  8. Byron Donalds of Florida
  9. Josh Brecheen of Oklahoma
  10. Keith Self of Texas
  11. Michael Cloud of Texas
  12. Mary Miller of Illinois
  13. Andy Ogles of Tennessee
  14. Paul Gosar of Arizona

A total of 218 votes is required to win the speakership.

Rep. James Clyburn, R-S.C., nominated Rep. Hakeem Jeffries, D-N.Y., while Rep. Matt Gaetz, R-Fla., nominated Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio and Rep. Lauren Boebert, R-Colo., nominated Rep. Kevin Hern, R-Mo.

Final vote count:

  • McCarthy – 213 votes
  • Jeffries – 211 votes
  • Hern – 3 votes
  • Jordan – 4 votes

This is a breaking news story and may be updated.

Have an opinion about this article? To sound off, please email letters@DailySignal.com and we’ll consider publishing your edited remarks in our regular “We Hear You” feature. Remember to include the url or headline of the article plus your name and town and/or state.

The post 14 Republicans Switch Votes In Favor of Rep. Kevin McCarthy appeared first on The Daily Signal.

Share to break through the censorship!

JOIN US @NewRightNetwork on our Telegram, Twitter, Facebook Page and Groups, and other social media for instant news updates!

New Right Network depends on your support as a patriot-ran American news network. Donate now